Ownership and management

Home/About us/Ownership and management


Historic and present ownership of Ibsen Photonics

Ibsen Photonics originates back to Ibsen Micro Structures A/S founded in 1991. ADC Telecommunications Inc. acquired Ibsen Micro Structures A/S in May 2000 and changed the name to ADC Denmark. Ibsen Photonics was established as a management-led buy-out from ADC Denmark ApS on November 1, 2001, and is today privately held with FOSS A/S holding 85 % and Ibsen management and employees holding the remaining 15 % of the shares.


Henrik Skov Andersen, CEO and President

Henrik joined us in February 2011 as Chief Executive Officer, succeeding Torben Jacobsen, now board member of Ibsen. Henrik has international experience from senior management positions at Netgroup, Coloplast, Scandinavian Mobility and Timken, and has worked several years as a consultant at McKinsey & Co. During his career, Henrik has acquired a strong understanding of international business, which is now applied to securing  strong and profitable growth at Ibsen. Henrik Skov Andersen holds a M.Sc. E.E. from the Technical University of Denmark and an MBA from INSEAD.

Board of Directors

Kim Vejlby Hansen, Chairman

Kim Vejlby Hansen is CEO at FOSS, which is the majority shareholder in Ibsen Photonics. Kim has several years of experience as Chief Operating Officer at FOSS, with a solid background in developing analytical solutions for the food industry. He holds a Ph.D. from the Technical University of Denmark, and besides the board position at Ibsen he holds a number of other board positions.

Torben Jacobsen

Torben joined Ibsen in 1997 as CEO, and led the company successfully for 14 years before joining the board. Torben has held leading management positions with large Danish companies before joining Ibsen. Torben is also an active board member in a number of other companies. He holds a Ph.D. from the Technical University of Denmark and a B.Com. from Copenhagen Business School.

Michael Brock

Michael Brock brings to Ibsen many years of experience from the test and measurement as well as the medical equipment industry as former President of Brüel & Kjaer Sound and Vibration and President and CEO of BK Medical and GN Otometrics. Besides the board position at Ibsen, Michael is Chairman of the Board at DDD Diagnostics A/S and Reson A/S. Michael holds a Master’s Degree from the Technical University of Denmark.

Julia la Cour Krups

Julia holds a degree in International Business from CBS, and works with digital solutions for B2B customers at the world leading Green Energy company Orsted. Julia is granddaughter of Nils Foss, who founded FOSS A/S in 1956.

Rasmus Egmont Foss

Rasmus holds a degree in International Business and Politics from CBS. Having worked in R&D and strategic project management at TrackMan, who specialize in radar technology for golf and other sports. Rasmus now writes about politics, economics, and science for the newspaper “Weekendavisen”. Rasmus is grandson of Nils Foss, the founder of FOSS A/S.